Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 30th, 2009

Salt in the wound

We enrolled in this study at the RE to save $2000 on the cycle (really a drop in the bucket, but we’ll take any kind of savings we can get.) Because I’m in the study, I had to keep taking PIO shots until today, despite the negative beta and go back for a repeat blood test this morning. Ugh. The LAST place I wanted to go today was back to the RE’s office. I can’t describe what a place of torture that office has become for me.

Then I made the mistake of throwing away the needle Ben used to do this morning’s PIO shot. Thank God I didn’t look until now. HOLY CRAP the needles are HUGE!!! Like 2 inches long and fairly thick. They really weren’t as bad as I expected, pain wise, but I’m glad I hadn’t seen the needle before now.

So now I just stop all medication and wait for my period to come. Awesome. Oh, and according to some women on the infertility chat board I frequent, I can expect a post IVF period to be heavier and more painful than normal. Given that I’m normally knocked out with cramps for two days and zoned out on Vicodin, I can’t wait. At least I can take as much stinking Advil as I want. No fetus to hurt, right?

People keep asking me how we’re doing, and we discussed it this morning. I don’t really think either of us believe it’s real. We’re kind of numb to it. I don’t know what we’re going to do next. Either I’ll go on the pill to control the endometriosis or try to let my body get back to some sense of normalcy without hormones for a while. Not that my body HAS a sense of normalcy, or I wouldn’t have had to do all of this crap to begin with.

So that’s that. I’m really not sure what else to blog about now? Adjusting to the idea that we’ll only have one kid? Any suggestions? Should I just wrap it up? All of the IF blogs I’ve read have eventually ended with a pregnancy and they write about that, so what now?

Read Full Post »